Nobel Prize winners in 1923

The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards granted in several categories by Swedish and Norwegian institutions in recognition of academic, cultural, or scientific advances. The will of the Swedish scientist Alfred Nobel established the five Nobel prizes in 1895. The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901. Today, the prize is awarded for Outstanding contributions to humanity in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine and Economics.

The Nobel Prize for Physics in 1923

Robert Andrews Millikan – for his work on the elementary charge of electricity and on the photoelectric effect

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1923

Fritz Pregl – for his invention of the method of micro-analysis of organic substances.

The Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 1923

Frederick Grant Banting and John James Rickard Macleod – for the discovery of insulin.

The Nobel Prize for Literature in 1923

William Butler Yeats – for his always inspired poetry, which in a highly artistic form gives expression to the spirit of a whole nation.

The Nobel Peace Prize in 1923

No Nobel Prize was awarded this year. The prize money was allocated to the Special Fund of this prize section.

Share and Subscribe SAR Publisher. Leave your queries in the comment section below.

Source: All Nobel Prizes.

Previous articleNobel Prize winners in 1944
Next articleCommon Knowledge and General Knowledge Series #39
Author and Assistant Professor in Finance, Ardent fan of Arsenal FC. Always believe "The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance - Socrates"
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments