You are here
Home > General Knowledge > Nobel Prize winners in 2012

Nobel Prize winners in 2012

The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards granted in several categories by Swedish and Norwegian institutions in recognition of academic, cultural, or scientific advances. The will of the Swedish scientist Alfred Nobel established the five Nobel prizes in 1895. The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901. Today, the prize is awarded for Outstanding contributions to humanity in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine and Economics.

The Nobel Prize for Physics in 2012

Serge Haroche and David J. Wineland – for ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2012

Robert J. Lefkowitz and Brian K. Kobilka – for studies of G-protein-coupled receptors

The Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 2012

Sir John B. Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka – for the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent

The Nobel Prize for Literature in 2012

Mo Yan – who with hallucinatory realism merges folk tales, history and the contemporary

The Nobel Peace Prize in 2012

European Union (EU) – for over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2012

Alvin E. Roth and Lloyd S. Shapley – for the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design

Share and Subscribe SAR Publisher. Leave your queries in the comment section below.

Source: All Nobel Prizes.

Leave a Reply