You are here
Home > General Knowledge > Nobel Prize winners in 2014

Nobel Prize winners in 2014

The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards granted in several categories by Swedish and Norwegian institutions in recognition of academic, cultural, or scientific advances. The will of the Swedish scientist Alfred Nobel established the five Nobel prizes in 1895. The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901. Today, the prize is awarded for Outstanding contributions to humanity in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine and Economics.

The Nobel Prize for Physics in 2014

Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura – for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2014

Eric Betzig, Stefan W. Hell and William E. Moerner – for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy

The Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 2014

John O’Keefe, May-Britt Moser and Edvard I. Moser – for their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain

The Nobel Prize for Literature in 2014

Patrick Modiano – for the art of memory with which he has evoked the most ungraspable human destinies and uncovered the life-world of the occupation

The Nobel Peace Prize in 2014

Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai – for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2014

Jean Tirole – for his analysis of market power and regulation

Share and Subscribe SAR Publisher. Leave your queries in the comment section below.

Source: All Nobel Prizes.

Leave a Reply