You are here
Home > General Knowledge > Nobel Prize winners in 2017

Nobel Prize winners in 2017

The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards granted in several categories by Swedish and Norwegian institutions in recognition of academic, cultural, or scientific advances. The will of the Swedish scientist Alfred Nobel established the five Nobel prizes in 1895. The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901. Today, the prize is awarded for Outstanding contributions to humanity in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine and Economics.

The Nobel Prize for Physics in 2017

Rainer Weiss, Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne – for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2017

Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson – for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution

The Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 2017

Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young – for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm

The Nobel Prize for Literature in 2017

Kazuo Ishiguro – who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world

The Nobel Peace Prize in 2017

International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) – for its work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2017

Richard H. Thaler – for his contributions to behavioural economics

Share and Subscribe SAR Publisher. Leave your queries in the comment section below.

Source: All Nobel Prizes.

Leave a Reply